Skip to content

Arlington, Va. — The Aerospace Industries Association (AIA) has elected Mike Petters, President and Chief Executive Officer of Huntington Ingalls Industries, to serve as Chairman of the Board of Governors for 2022. Tom Gentile, President and CEO of Spirit AeroSystems, will serve as Vice Chairman. Eric Fanning has been reelected as AIA President and CEO.

“It is an honor to serve the broader aerospace and defense industry in this role,” said Petters. “It is a challenging environment at the moment for all of our stakeholders – our customers, our suppliers and the workforce. I’m committed to working on behalf of AIA’s members toward solutions that will benefit both them and our nation.”

“The 2021 Board of Governors worked diligently to lead the aerospace and defense (A&D) industry to continued success despite the challenges presented by the pandemic. In large part due to their efforts, our industry remains strong, employing more than two million people and maintaining a positive trade balance valued at more than $40 billion,” Fanning said. “As Chairman in 2022, Mike will play an essential role in shaping AIA’s advocacy and outreach and will ensure the A&D industry remains a bright spot for the American economy.”

AIA represents more than 320 manufacturers and suppliers across every sector and tier of the aerospace and defense industry. Together, these world-class and high-technology companies support more than two million jobs across the United States.

Direct involvement of CEO-level officers from the country’s major aerospace and defense companies helps guide and shape the policy goals for AIA and the entire industry. The association is led by a Board of Governors that meets twice a year and an Executive Committee that meets more frequently.

AIA’s Chairman, Vice Chairman, as well as the President and Chief Executive Officer, all serve on the Executive Committee. The members of the AIA Executive Committee for 2022 are:

Tom Arseneault, BAE Systems

Tom Bell, Rolls Royce North America

Kathleen Boyle, Verify, Inc.

Heather Bulk, Special Aerospace Services

Leanne Caret, The Boeing Company

Eric DeMarco, Kratos Defense & Security Solutions

Scott Donnelly, Textron, Inc.

Eric Fanning, Aerospace Industries Association

Tom Gentile, Spirit AeroSystems

Greg Hayes, Raytheon Technologies

Dave Kaufman, Ball Aerospace

Roger Krone, Leidos Corporation

Chris Kubasik, L3Harris Technologies

Nanda Kumar, Eaton Corporation

Mike Madsen, Honeywell Aerospace

Phebe Novakovic, General Dynamics Corporation

Fatih Ozmen, Sierra Nevada Corporation

Mike Petters, Huntington Ingalls Industries

John Slattery, General Electric Aviation

James Taiclet, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Kathy Warden, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Sol Kanthack, Andrews Tool Company, Associate Member Representative


1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1700
Arlington, VA 22209-3928