AIA’s National Aerospace Standards (NAS) are voluntary standards developed by the aerospace industry since 1941. Subject matter experts from AIA member companies participate in committees and working groups to develop and maintain the NAS library, which currently contains over 1400 active standards. All standards development is conducted in accordance with TOC-1, Development Procedures for National Aerospace Standards. AIA is an accredited standards developer (ASD) through the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

AIA’s standards cover a wide variety of subject areas including:

  • NAS parts (bolts, rivets, washers, screws, nut plates, pins, knobs, etc.)
  • Nondestructive Test Personnel certification (NAS410)
  • Hazardous materials management (NAS411)
  • Foreign Object Debris (FOD) prevention (NAS412)
  • Remote Verification (NAS413)
  • Cutting tools (drills, reamers, end mills)
  • Airport Operations (NAS3306)
  • Long Term Archival and Retrieval of Data (NAS9300 series)
  • Trade Compliance Standards (NAS9400 series)
  • Safety Management Systems (NAS9927)
  • Cyber Security (NAS9933)
  • Organization Designation Authorization – an American National Standard (NAS9947) – in development

The NAS parts are most well-known for state-of-the-art, high strength, precision fasteners, electrical connectors, splices and terminations, rod end bearings, and many other types of hardware and components. Most of the NAS parts are available as 3D CAD models (see below for more information). In addition to the NAS standards, AIA supports standardization work at the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). AIA holds the secretariat for ISO/TC 20, Aircraft and Space Vehicles, and its subcommittee SC 16, Unmanned Aircraft Systems.

AIA offers authorized 3D computer-aided design (CAD) models of components based on critical National Aerospace Standards (NAS), providing a valuable tool for engineers across the aerospace and defense industry to accelerate innovation, shorten design cycles, reduce costs, and engineer smarter. The NAS 3D CAD model library is available as an annual subscription through IHS Markit or PARTsolutions. For more information on the NAS 3D CAD model library, click here. See below for a video about how Ryerson University’s Hyperloop Team used the AIA/NAS 3D model library.  The team won the Subsystem Innovation Award for their deployable wheel system that uses over 120 NAS parts.


Christopher Carnahan

Assistant Vice President, Standards

Nathaniel Phillips

Director, Standards

Chloe Wolchko

Standards Engineer, National Aerospace Standards (NAS) Program

Jamie Wolf

Coordinator, Membership & Standards